Balearic Balls

Above & Beyond’s new single veers back towards their trance roots, and I couldn’t be happier. It is similar to A.I. (below) in its classic trance sound and darker feel. I tend to like suspense filled build ups to a drop, so I’d like to talk about 1:16. I love the eerie sounds here, and 1:46 is a smooth techno bridge into the drop.

The name of this track is a bit of a mystery to me. The Balearic Islands are off the coast of Spain and contain the EDM mecca of Ibiza. Previously unknown in broader pop culture, the island of Ibiza is now known as the place Mike Posner took a pill to show Avicii he was cool. I wonder if it worked. So the Balearic part of Balearic Balls makes sense. Let me know if you have any insight about the second word in the title.

Leave a Reply

