Follow the Light

I love Andrew Bayer and I have enjoyed Arty’s recent return to Anjunabeats. Never would I have imagined these two heavy weights teaming up, but the results are euphoric. I think this may be my favorite Anjunabeats release in a long time.

I like to think about which artist influenced what in these dual effort tracks, so lets break it down that way.

The opening is tricky. I think the grungy feel punctuated by male vocals à la the Do Androids Dream EP sounds like Bayer. However, I am not too sure after Arty’s recent “Distorted Love” release. Perhaps Bayer has been in the studio with Arty more than we realize.

0:45 is deliciously chunky. Imagine that hitting you on the dance floor at about 2am. Hope I experience that soon as Bayer will be in my area.

1:30 is the type of sweeping cinematic stretch that is classic Bayer. The piano and strings here remind me of “Celestial“.

2:18 “Which way do you think we should go?” This gave me chills. Again, this is Bayer. He loves these types of vague vocals that function to set a tone and create unanswered questions rather than state things.

Immediately after 2:18 I think its fairly equal but an Arty flavor predominates.

Also included in this post is a new one from Jason Ross. This is his first vocal track just like Ilan recently produced his first. I think that this sounds a bit formulaic. That isn’t necessarily bad, but I’m left feeling like I’ve already heard this song upon my first listen. That being said, the vocals and production are fantastic. I’d like to see something a bit more unique, but I think he will find his own sound with vocal tracks soon enough.

 

Leave a Reply

