Mid-Summer House

Its the weekend, so I thought I’d throw together a short house sampler for those sunny July weekends at the beach, lake, or pool.

3LAU, a mashup master and an integral part of my college playlists, has transitioned to producing original pieces. His newest track features one of my favorite vocalists, Emma Hewitt. 2:18 onward is a wonderful combination of soaring vocals punctuated one two punch bass notes.

Surprisingly, I like Martin Garrix. I truly think his productions are top-notch. Other producers have popularized some of the sounds he uses, but they only use them as cheap tricks while Garrix builds entire cohesive tracks around them. It works. “Animals“, “Virus“, and now “Dragon” are all in my music collection.

I’ve never heard of this artist, but I have been missing out. Apparently, Rosette is a Canadian R&B singer whose vocals have been put to excellent use in this up-tempo dance track. This is practically pop, but even the EDM hipster in me can’t deny that this is just good music. I look forward to some progressive or deep remixes.

Lots of times I inappropriately use house to refer to popular EDM tracks that can find their way to the radio (e.g. Calvin Harris, Tiesto, or Avicii). I should probably just call those types of songs something more generic like “dance”. Lets listen to some real house. This is some underground and slightly funky sounding house from London producer Michael Woods. Now this is what I’d like to hear a DJ play. If you like this sound then check out his label’s Soundcloud.

Leave a Reply

