Vocal Chops

I have effusively proclaimed my love for female vocals in trance and especially the chopped up and altered version that some producers implement. I am a long-time trance listener, but since I am relatively new to writing about and analyzing the genre I was at a loss for words when I first tried to describe the effect on my blog. In one of my first posts I described the effect which I called the “vocal strobe”. Check out that post for some excellent examples.

I recently came across a great track by Andy Moor, and one of the first things that I noticed was my favorite effect on prominent display. In scrolling through the comments I discovered that the correct term is called a “vocal chop”. Hey, my homemade term wasn’t too far off!

Anyway, I think you should give this track your full attention, because it is nearly perfect. It has a rich instrumental fullness which is balanced by a breathy vocalist adding in an element of detachment and emptiness. That combination is one of my favorites. I think a good trance track should remain slightly aloof while still managing to surround you with full bass. This song does that very well and uses the vocal chop perfectly. Absolute ear candy.

Here is an old Above & Beyond track featuring Andy Moore. Check out 2:00 onward. This track is a trance classic, and I am always on the lookout for modern tracks that embrace this old school vibe. If you find any feel free to send them my way.

Here is the modern update/refresher to the above track. That is another thing that I love about trance. When songs start to sound dated, which they all inevitably do, then you give it a modern makeover.

Leave a Reply

