Paul van Dyk

The trance legend Paul van Dyk (PvD) took over guest mixing duties on last week’s ABGT. I think PvD’s music is among my earliest memories of the trance genre. Check out the end of this post for one of my favorite PvD tracks and memories. He was was of the original pioneers of the genre and one of the first DJs to really be a celebrity. His recent guest mix was absolutely on point and I have selected two of my favorites to share with you.

PvD included a large representation of his fellow Germans in his guest mix. I am more than happy with that decision because they have remained true to that classic trance sound while finding ways to innovate. I have never been to Berlin, but I imagine that a misty night at 11am feels just 1:00. You take a taxi to the club, hearing the tires splash in the occasional puddle. You pull up to your destination and look out the window to see the city lights distorted by the rivulets from coalescing rain drops streaking down the window. You step out and descend into the club. Finally, at 2:25, you enter.

Here is another one that PvD played. This is by Arty, and I think my favorite part of this track comes around 1:10 which leads nicely into 1:40. Finally, the peak comes at 3:27.

Here is one of my favorite tracks by PvD. This is the version that Above & Beyond played in their weekly podcast Trance Around the World aka TATW (the predecessor to ABGT). This is all the way back from episode 177 which was sometime during my high school years. I have a vivid memory of driving to high school early in the morning with this song on repeat. The empty, lonely, and haunting tones of this track fit well with the silence of the dark and snowy landscape. 4:49… need I say more? I love the touch of the sirens in the background.

For some more modern PvD, check out his A State of Trance (ASOT) set and his ABGT guest mix starting at about 1:30:00).

Leave a Reply

