My Trip to Above & Beyond’s Show

I flew up to Tacoma for Above & Beyond’s final show of their North American tour. As usual, I was not disappointed, and their status as my favorite artist of all time has been solidified. It was a special treat as 16 Bit Lolitas, Myon & Shane 54, and even Mat Zo were there as warm-up acts. Above & Beyond, rewarding the fans on the last night of their tour, played a really long set and gave a generous encore. All told, the show was 7 hours, and I savored every second of it.

They have come a long way from when I first saw them about 3 years ago in a small bar in Bloomington, IN. I’ve enjoyed watching them grow and adapt their style to larger venues. They still communicate with the crowd via messages on the main screen that they type out on the fly. I made sure to take a few videos and photos that I wanted to share with you all. It was an amazing night that I’ll never forget.

They opened with “We’re All We Need”, which has risen to be one of my favorite A&B tracks of all time. It rivals the likes of Sun & Moon and Alchemy. When I heard this come on I was overcome with joy. I’m a pretty serious guy, but even I got giddy and felt warm butterflies in my stomach as the purple aura surrounded me.

Next up are a few Andrew Bayer tracks.

Below are some photos I took throughout the night.

From the stands during Mat Zo’s set. It was quite a crowd.

IMG_4316

IMG_4317

During Above & Beyond. They released some confetti at the end in celebration of the tour’s conclusion.

IMG_4324

IMG_4337

Leave a Reply

