Trance Throwback

It has been awhile since I’ve heard some slightly retro sounding trance. Maybe describing this as having a classic trance sound would be more appropriate. I think that retro implies that tracks like this are no longer produced or in style, and that just isn’t true at all. I think that the classic sound has been tweaked and evolved to sound fresh and current. I think this track does that particularly well.

After all this time, I think trance remains my favorite genre. Occasionally, a deep track will exceed any trance track, but this is an exceedingly rare occurrence and more reflective of my personal experience with that song rather than the genre as a whole.

Here is a throwback for comparison. Getting up there in age now, this is an OceanLab track that I really love. Compare the two and take note of the stylistic similarities.

Leave a Reply

