Chill Vibes from Porter Robinson

I’ll admit that Porter Robinson is an artist that I haven’t been keeping tabs on, and that is an error on my part. I absolutely loved his track “Language” in college. Follow the link for your listening pleasure.

Anyway, I am currently in the process of righting my wrong by discovering his new album. I recommend you give it a try as well. I’m going to steal the iTunes analysis because I couldn’t agree more. iTunes wrote that this album gives “nods” to Washed Out and M83, but I think its more than that. Its like Robinson spliced those groups’ DNA into his own to produce this sound.

I wanted to share one of my favorite tracks from the album so far. It is called “Divinity”. The original version of this track is a slice of chilled out electro euphoria. It makes me feel like I’m in a beautiful computer world.

Now, here is a great remix. I actually like this one better because some of the glitchy sounding parts of the original have been toned down or edited out. I prefer that. The original is a good song in its own right, but this remix elevates it to great. This is the version I will be buying. Thank goodness for remixes. As I’ve written before, the flexibility of EDM is one of its strengths.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

