deadmau5

Half of the time, deadmau5 seems to have fun with his tracks and at times doesn’t even seem like his is taking his own work seriously. However, the other half of the time his tracks are extremely moody and dark. His musical style is either manic or melancholic. He doesn’t have an in between. Below are some of my favorite deadmau5 tracks from each of his albums starting with the most recent. I won’t talk about his newest album since I recently featured it in a post.

Album: > album title goes here <

If you haven’t read the short story, “The Veldt“, then you should immediately. It a terrifically creepy and imaginative story written by Ray Bradbury. deadmau5’s track and the accompanying music video is a retelling of this story. I really suggest reading the story to fully appreciate the video and song.

Next up it “October”. Just a solid track all around.

Album: 4×4=12 

This is probably my favorite album. Its by far the most creative, and deadmau5 took a lot of risks in this album. It includes two of the only dubstep songs that I can tolerate. Check them out below. They are called “Raise You Weapon” and “One Trick Pony” (the latter starts with the dubstep very early on).

“Some Chords” was also a popular track from this album. I think it is because it sounds pretty similar to “Ghosts n’ Stuff” which, by the time of this album’s release, had achieved huge popularity and brought deadmau5 into pop culture.

“Right This Second” is my favorite from the album. I love its borderline cruel buildup.

Album: For Lack of a Better Name

Ok, lets get it out of the way. “Ghosts n’ Stuff” is probably deadmau5’s most famous song. I don’t hate it, but I’ve heard it enough to last a lifetime.

“Strobe” is the opposite of “Ghosts n’ Stuff”. Its a moody and thought provoking musical epic that is a favorite among true deadmau5 fans. If you like songs that take minutes to build then this isn’t for you. If you want the challenge in patience then give this track a listen. It’ll be a sweat reward.

Album: Random Album Title

I’ve already posted about this track and the emotions that I have associated with it, but I am posting it again because it is one of the best, if not the best, deadmau5 track ever.

 

 

Leave a Reply

