Summer Remix Roundup: “Up All Night”, “Blue Sky Action”, and “The Dark”

Three prominent tracks from the summer have been remixed, so I thought I’d share them. First up is a remix of Arty’s “Up All Night”. After listening to EDM for so long its pretty rare when I hear a stretch of a track that sounds so novel and innovate that it makes my brain say “Hey ears… get it together. Seriously, whats going on? Thats too good to be true. There must be a mistake.”

1:36 is the first bit of fresh innovation and 3:20 wraps the song up with the same theme. I am so glad its the weekend because this track is getting a proper test drive on the good speakers. Hope the neighbors have a tolerance for loud music that lasts at least 4 minutes and 28 seconds.

Next up is the remix for “Blue Sky Action“. This is painful, but I have to be honest. I was a little disappointed in the original “Blue Sky Action”, but their club remix turned out to be all right, and this remix hits the spot. Again, what I love about EDM is that you don’t have to be stuck with a track that doesn’t perfectly fit your preferences.

My original complaint with “Blue Sky Action” was that it was trying a little too hard to be uplifting. I’m not into that. This remix takes the original track and completely strips away the overdone uplifting theme and replaces it with some seriously chilled-out futuristic spacestation lounge sounds. I feel like a robot should bring me a drink while I look out of the window at a terraformed Mars.

After its all said and done I think that “That Dark” will end up being my favorite track from the summer, and I was incredibly stoked to see that it had been remixed. This remix doesn’t necessarily improve the auditory perfection of the original but it produces its own perfection in another way. It is a worthy equivalent with a slightly different flavor. Definitely take a listen to the original, which I wrote about here. Also, let me just say that Meredith Call is definitely my favorite vocalist in EDM right now. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Another remix.

Leave a Reply

