Tension

I posted a snippet of “Tension” in my post discussing the importance of silence in a track, but I think that the full official version of this track deserves to be posted.

As its name implies, this song is all about tension. Honestly, this entire song works toward one drop, and it is totally worth it. When I first heard “Tension” I was skeptical. I felt that it was a bit of a gimmicky track relying on one effect, but the more that I listen the more that it grows on me. Most tracks that simply rely on building tension followed by a big release fall flat. The release just doesn’t live up to the expectations and anticipation created by the build up. However, Ilan Bluestone and Jerome Isma-Ae manage to pull it off here, and its impressive.

They hook the listener with a solid beat at 0:15 then they transition into an extremely long build up. However, the teaser at 0:15 is enough to remind you of what is likely to come after the drop, so you keep listening. The build up itself is actually enjoyable unlike many build ups in EDM songs can turn out to be grating and downright irritating. Not the case here. I am not sure that I have ever heard a track that creates such an overwhelming feeling of a coming storm, a rising wave, or a gathering avalanche. Finally, the track rises to its apex at 2:15 and releases an incredible amount of stored energy.

Leave a Reply

